Maindy Centre, Crown Way, Cardiff, CF14 3AJ

Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers RR 2012

Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers RR 2012

On a course that was heavily affected by the current pattern blustery weather Colin Parry powered his way clear to make it No2 for him in wins of the Ajax organised Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers (E,1,2,3) 70 mile road race in the Vale of Glamorgan.

Delighted on the result he said; ‘It’s the first time I’ve won a road race for a second time- the first time people can say to you it’s luck but to win a second time proves them wrong.’  Since winning in 2009 he admits he was a marked man this time so he sat in the bunch more which was perhaps a wise move given some of the heavy headwinds and crosswinds on the course.

The actuary, with Insurance firm Sanlam, from Lydney in Gloucestershire has recently hit some sort of purple patch in form as this is the third race win in the last 4 weeks not withstanding an excellent overall Green Jersey points win in the 4 day Kerry Group Rás Mumhan in Ireland.

Early in the race a break of 8 riders formed and Hugh Wilson , also of Wilier / Live 2 Ride went with that which meant Parry hadn’t a great incentive to chase it down.

On the final lap, however, Parry led a charge up Death Valley to the final prime to drag a chasing bunch to within 30 seconds striking distance of the leading group of 8 come the final descent on the A48. This is where he went on a solo move and bridged as he came through past the HQ in Corntown. Team-make Hugh Wilson immediately launched an attack as Parry joined and after 2 successive attempts where Parry said, ‘I was obviously hoping to let him go’ the weakening effect on the group of chasing those attacks down allowed Colin to strike out just before the turn for the final tricky climb to the finish to seal his victory.

Meanwhile the regional race was won by Mike Kiss of RPC racing who managed to get a significant gap on the chasing field led by a late charge from a small group.

These included pour very own rider Dave Medhurst who burst up the climb to claim second spot from Deacon Cutterham of NTFO ,with Graeme Boswell, also of the Ajax, in fourth spot. Chapeau to the Ajax team who worked well as a unit to set up Dave – pity for them there was Mike Kiss further up the road!

There were a couple of incidents as the elite race unfolded. The worst involved a Junior with Wilier/ Live 2 Ride. Dan Pearson hit what appears to have been a slippy sunken drain grate on the coast road near Wick and this sent him careering off into a stationary vehicle. Pearson was taken to hospital with a suspected fracture but we’re glad to report the latest is he’s only suffered bruising and a headache and is recovering well.

Thanks to:

Chris Landon for his hours of hard work organising such a great event (again)


Chief Commissaires: Liz Slater & Steve Thomas
Asst Commissaires: Scot Maunders & Gary Lock
Chief Judge: Glyn Russell
Lead Cars: Ed Thomas &Mark Austin
, Tony Hutchins & Ceri Price

The National Escort Group for their invaluable help and expertise in making sure junctions are protected and the riders are chaperoned on the course and special thanks to the paramedic team including Tim Austin whose timely help with Dan Pearson and others is greatly appreciated.

All our wonderful marshals, those who facilitated signing on (Including one Mick Tinning who managed to be Lantern Rouge in the 3,4 race!) those who sorted refreshments including Reg Pharoah who sorted packed lunches for the volunteers.


National B E123

1. Colin Parry, Wilier/Live 2 Ride
2. Harry Grey,
3. Russell Falder, Cycle Premier Kovert
4. Rhys Lloyd, Metaltek-Scott
5. Hugh Wilson, Wilier/Live 2 Ride
6. Glyndwr Griffiths, RT
7. Robert Smail, Teamwallis CHH
8. Dale Appleby, Metaltek-Scott
9. Will Bjergfelt, Wilier/Live to Ride
10. Ed Laverack, Team Tredz
11. Ian Alexander Cheltenham & County CC
12. James Cartridge Cadence Cannondale
13. James Smith Primal Europe Powered By
14. Hefin Price Port Talbot Wheelers
15. Peter Vincent Mid Devon CC
16. Gruffudd Lewis Team UK Youth
17 Sam Williams NFTO
18. Martin Smith Primal Europe Powered By
19. Chris Wilkinson GWR Team/Swindon Cycles/High5/Kalas/Giant
20. Rob Turner NFTO
21. James Williams Primal Europe Powered By
22. Ben Simmons Team Wiggle
23. John Holt Team Tredz
24. Scott Davies M & D Kinetica Racing Team
25. Robert Willcocks Primal Europe Powered By
26. Bevan Humphreys RT
27. Matthew Beckett Cardiff JIF
28. Jess Wieckowski GWR Team/Swindon Cycles/High5/Kalas/Giant
29. Thomas Smith
30. Tavis Walker Wilier/Live to Ride
31. Jack Plummer Cadence Cannondale
32. Luke Cornish Cwmcarn Paragon RC
33. Joseph Lally CC Abergavenny
34. Jack Gibson Cardiff Ajax CC
35. Jeremy Rees Swansea Wheelers CC

Regional B 3,4

1. Michael Kiss Rapid Performance Coaching RT
2. David Medhurst Cardiff Ajax CC
3. Deacon Cutterham NFTO
4. Graeme Boswell Cardiff Ajax CC
5. Lewis Bevan
7. Andrew Parry RT
8. Tom Ilett Bristol South CC
9. Ian Sutcliffe Abergavenny Road Club
10. Mark Munns Ride 24/7
11. Sam Larkham Bristol South CC
12. Paul Jones NFTO
13. Steven Green Bristol South CC
14. Stuart McCombie Bristol RC
15. Jamie Fenaroli Cardiff Ajax CC
16. Richard Williamson Gannet CC
17. Steven Bennett Acme Wheelers (Rhondda) CC
18. Matthew Jones Cwmcarn Paragon RC
19. Paul Bennett Cardiff JIF
20. Benjamin Hall Bristol RC
21. Simon Smith
22. Ben Allister Cardiff JIF
23. Christian Smith Bristol South CC
24. Mathew Ackland RT
25. Mark Hudson Bristol South CC
26. Robert Jones Ogmore Valley Wheelers
27. Dr Iain Cade Cadence RT
28. Gary Sturch Pontypool RCC
29. Mick Ballantyne NFTO
30. Luke Williams Gannet CC
31. Diccon Hill Cardiff 100 Miles Road Cycling Club
32. Matt Lee NFTO Finished
33. Steven Cottington Cadence RT
35. Marcus Boneham Onit Sports
36. Stephane Pang Onit Sports
37. Dafydd Lambeth Cwmcarn Paragon RC
38. Gareth Adams Cadence RT
39. Michael Greaves Gannet CC
40. Michael Tinning Cardiff Ajax CC

More pictures are available to view (and purchase) on