Betty Pharoah Memorial RR 2017 – Confirmed Results

Sam Williams, One Pro Cycling wins the 2017 Betty Pharoah Memorial Road Race.

With a full team from One Pro Cycling they were always going to dominate the E/1/2/3 race but it was good to see they weren’t given an easy ride. It was even more pleasing for us to see Ajax rider Llyr Smallwood coming in 4th just behind the One Pro trio Sam Williams, Tom Baylis and Kirstian house who stayed away on the last lap, Sam Williams getting his hands in the air. Danni King MBE mixed it with the men coming home in the chasing bunch as 1st female.

We had two tough hard fought races and it was fantastic to see so many junior riders putting in solid rides.

In the 3/4 race it came down to a race up the final drag with Zach Minto of Jif being caught and passed with 1km to after trying all day to get and stay away. Debutant Sion Harlow from Rhos On Sea CC came through to pip junior riders George Bazley of Bristol cycling Development and Ajax’s own Joe Rees into 2nd and 3rd.

  Sam Williams E123 Winner  

After all the drama and stress over the past week with potential road closures on the course the 2017 Betty Pharoah Memorial Road Races went off without a hitch. That was only thanks to all the hard work and support we received from Welsh Cycling, South Wales Police and the Vale of Glamorgan Council. On the day we had tens of volunteers, National Escort Group, StJohns Ambulance, CSAS Marshals and race officials all working hard to get the race running smoothly. Giving assitance and financial support we can’t forget all our sponsors who can be found in the race manual. We can’t thank you all enough for your support.

The full results are below.



Legstretchers Programme 2017