17th Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretcher Road Race – Race Report

Marcin Bialoblocki of One Pro Cycling claimed first place from local lad Sam Harrison of NFTO in calm and brightening conditions on a more scenic coastal route in the Vale of Glamorgan this year.

Attacks came right from the drop of the flag with George Atkins of One Pro and Sam Harrison of NFTO getting away to take a 1 minute lead which lasted all of lap 1.  On the second time around the 37km undulating south Wales circuit the two leaders were joined by respective teammates Eddie Dunbar and Marcin Bialoblocki through Ogmore. They maintained the minute gap and stayed out of the ensuing trouble behind where a crash precipitated  some splitting in the peloton such that there ended up being a chasing group of three in turn followed  by a group of 5 and then the main field at the  end of the second lap.

In lap 3 the group orders settled with the remains of the main bunch being some 2 minutes 40 seconds in arrears. Marcin Bialoblocki made his bid for glory at St Brides Major on the back side of the circuit with Sam Harrison trying to chase down in vain giving the One Pro Cycling man a convincing victory on the Cowbridge bypass with a swelling crowd on the overbridge welcoming him home.

Meanwhile in the 3/4 race an impressive ride from junior Velocity Globalbike rider Peter Kibble saw him take the win from another junior Jack Broadley of Sunset Cycles in an uphill sprint finish.

On lap one the bunch stayed together. The start of the second lap saw Jif rider Stuart Meek attack up the slip road to the A48 but he failed to make it stick. After the bunch closed down the attack it was the turn of Peter Kibble and Forza rider Ashton St Hill to attack. They managed to stretch out a 45 second lead by the time they reached the hill prime above Southerndown. Peter pipping Ashton to the prize. The bunched chased hard and by the run in to the finish they were all back together. After making the earlier break Peter still managed to hold on to take the sprint finish dominated by junior riders with 4 of top 5 places.

Prize Winners

E/1/2/3 3/4
1st Marcin Bialoblocki – OnePro Cycling 1st Peter Kibble – Velocity Globalbike
2nd Sam Harrison – NFTO 2nd Jack Broadley – Sunset Cycles
3rd George Atkins – OnePro Cycling 3rd Ashton St. Hill – Forza Cycles RT
4th Eddie Dunbar – NFTO 4th William Roberts – County Cycles RT
5th Robert Partridge – NFTO 5th Kinsey McIlquham – Cardiff Jiff
6th Sam Williams – OnePro Cycling 6th Joe Lockett – Cardiff University Marmots
.  .
1st Vet – Lee Davies – Ride 24/7 1st Woman – Katie Curtis – Perl Izumi Sports Tours Int’l
1st Jnr – Joe Holt – County Cycles RT 1st Vet – Paul Hayward – Cwmcarn Paragons
1st Jnr – Peter Kibble – Velocity Golbalbike
Primes 1st 4th cat – Jacob Phelps – Muddybum Bikes
1 – Sam Harrison NFTO
2 – Marcin Bialoblocki OnePro Cycling Primes
3 – Eddie Dunbar NFTO 1 – Stephen Pang Onit Cycle
2 – Peter Kibble – Velocity Globalbike