New format for Sunday rides

Posted by on Mar 29, 2015 in News | 0 comments

Club rides will be changing from the 12th April 2015. The club has decided to plan routes on a 3 monthly basis with pre-determined routes (these will obviously be changed should the weather dictate on the day).

Each Sunday there will be a standard Club Route which will accommodate a faster (fast) group and a slightly slower (intermediate) group following the same route with a designated coffee stop. There will be also be a shorter route every Sunday which will be no more that 50 miles with a designated coffee shop.

Beginners Rides will continue on the first Sunday of each month.

More Info

Read More

17th Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretcher Road Race – Race Report

Posted by on Mar 24, 2015 in News | 0 comments

Marcin Bialoblocki of One Pro Cycling claimed first place from local lad Sam Harrison of NFTO in calm and brightening conditions on a more scenic coastal route in the Vale of Glamorgan this year.

Attacks came right from the drop of the flag with George Atkins of One Pro and Sam Harrison of NFTO getting away to take a 1 minute lead which lasted all of lap 1.  On the second time around the 37km undulating south Wales circuit the two leaders were joined by respective teammates Eddie Dunbar and Marcin Bialoblocki through Ogmore. They maintained the minute gap and stayed out of the ensuing trouble behind where a crash precipitated  some splitting in the peloton such that there ended up being a chasing group of three in turn followed  by a group of 5 and then the main field at the  end of the second lap.

In lap 3 the group orders settled with the remains of the main bunch being some 2 minutes 40 seconds in arrears. Marcin Bialoblocki made his bid for glory at St Brides Major on the back side of the circuit with Sam Harrison trying to chase down in vain giving the One Pro Cycling man a convincing victory on the Cowbridge bypass with a swelling crowd on the overbridge welcoming him home.

Meanwhile in the 3/4 race an impressive ride from junior Velocity Globalbike rider Peter Kibble saw him take the win from another junior Jack Broadley of Sunset Cycles in an uphill sprint finish.

On lap one the bunch stayed together. The start of the second lap saw Jif rider Stuart Meek attack up the slip road to the A48 but he failed to make it stick. After the bunch closed down the attack it was the turn of Peter Kibble and Forza rider Ashton St Hill to attack. They managed to stretch out a 45 second lead by the time they reached the hill prime above Southerndown. Peter pipping Ashton to the prize. The bunched chased hard and by the run in to the finish they were all back together. After making the earlier break Peter still managed to hold on to take the sprint finish dominated by junior riders with 4 of top 5 places.

Prize Winners

E/1/2/3 3/4
1st Marcin Bialoblocki – OnePro Cycling 1st Peter Kibble – Velocity Globalbike
2nd Sam Harrison – NFTO 2nd Jack Broadley – Sunset Cycles
3rd George Atkins – OnePro Cycling 3rd Ashton St. Hill – Forza Cycles RT
4th Eddie Dunbar – NFTO 4th William Roberts – County Cycles RT
5th Robert Partridge – NFTO 5th Kinsey McIlquham – Cardiff Jiff
6th Sam Williams – OnePro Cycling 6th Joe Lockett – Cardiff University Marmots
.  .
1st Vet – Lee Davies – Ride 24/7 1st Woman – Katie Curtis – Perl Izumi Sports Tours Int’l
1st Jnr – Joe Holt – County Cycles RT 1st Vet – Paul Hayward – Cwmcarn Paragons
1st Jnr – Peter Kibble – Velocity Golbalbike
Primes 1st 4th cat – Jacob Phelps – Muddybum Bikes
1 – Sam Harrison NFTO
2 – Marcin Bialoblocki OnePro Cycling Primes
3 – Eddie Dunbar NFTO 1 – Stephen Pang Onit Cycle
2 – Peter Kibble – Velocity Globalbike


Read More

Ladies Only Ride – Saturday 21st March 2015

Posted by on Mar 18, 2015 in News | 2 comments

Saturday 21 March is the third Saturday of the month so it’s time for the lovely ladies ride again!

All are welcome including non-members.

We ride at the pace of the slowest and typically cover a distance of between 20-30 miles. We’ll stop along the way for a cuppa and a chat. This Saturday’s ride will be on the shorter side due to racing commitments (helping, not doing!)

You’ll need:

  • a road worthy bike
  • a helmet
  • spares (i.e. inner tubes, pump, levers)
  • a drink and a snack
  • to dress appropriately for the weather.

The rides leave Maindy at 9:30am. Please arrive a little before that in order to sign on.

See you Saturday!

Read More

Ajax Open TT – Celtic Series Round 2 – Results

Posted by on Mar 15, 2015 in News | 0 comments

The results are in!

Well done to all who rode and hope you see you back next year.

Thanks to all who helped put this event on organiser Liz Webb and all the volunteers. without you there wouldn’t be a TT for people to ride in.

Results Sheet

Read More

Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretchers Road Races – 22nd March

Posted by on Mar 14, 2015 in News | 0 comments

2015 will see the 17th Betty Pharoah Memorial Legstretcher Race. Reg is long standing president of Cardiff Ajax and decades of hard work have made Reg Pharoah a legend of cycling in South Wales and further afield. In 2014 his hard work was recognised at the Torch Trophy Trust Awards where he was presented an award by HRH The Princess Royal alongside the likes of footballing legend Sir Bobby Charlton.

The race was started by Reg Pharoah as a memorial to his late wife Betty. He successfully organised the race for 10 years before passing the reins to Chris Landon who organised the event up until this year when he decided to take a step back due to his commitments to other races including the Junior tour of Wales. Under Chris’ guidance this years race is being organised by Rob Warren.

The race is run as two events and is open to all senior and junior riders, from Elite to 4th cat. Notable winners include Ben Luckwell, Matthew Higgins and local rider Matt Rowe who won the 3/4 event in 2005 and the E123 event in 2008.

In recent years the race has attracted some of the UK’s top riders including World and Olympic medalists with entries from Pro teams NFTO, UK Youth and Rapha Condor JLT. This year NFTO return along with newly formed teams OnePro Cycling, Moda Anon and Eston Ritte. They’ll be joined by the top riders from clubs across Wales and the South West and up and coming riders from Team Wiggins and Project 2018.

Reg and the race are very dear to all at Cardiff Ajax Cycling Club and we hope it will continue to be a success for many years to come.

Race Information

Event 1 : National B – E/1/2/3
67.0miles/107.5Km – Start Time: 10:00am

Event 2 : Regional B – 3/4
44.9miles/72.1Km – Start Time: 10:10am

Event HQ – Cowbridge Comprehensive School, Cowbridge.

More information including rider lists and course map can be found in the Race Programme.

Read More

Ajax Open TT – Celtic Series Round 2 Sat 14th March 2pm

Posted by on Mar 11, 2015 in News | 0 comments

The start sheet the our Open TT – Round 2 of the Celtic Series is now available here .

Read More

Tony Hutchings / Bikes4Africa

Posted by on Mar 6, 2015 in News | 0 comments

It is now over six months since Tony passed away. His brother, John, is organising a fund-raising evening for the Bikes4Africa charity which the family has been supporting.
It is to be held on Saturday 11th April at the Rumney Conservative Club at 7.30 for 8.00. Tickets are £5.00 each and there will be a disco/raffle, etc.. The Conservative Club is halfway up Rumney Hill on the left going out of town.
Read More